Tuesday, 21 May 2019 , 12:34:19

  • Site map
  • Contacts

The life cycle of the hair

The life cycle of hair consists of three stages

The length of the life cycle of an individual hair varies from 2 to 5 years

Each hair follicle is genetically programmed to produce about 25-27 hairs

Each hair grows according to its own “individual plan,” and therefore individual hairs are at varying stages of their life cycles at different times, specifically:

85% of hair is the active growth phase (anagen), 1% in the “rest” phase (catagen), and 14% in the hair loss phase (telogen).

Anagen phase – the continuous division of cells in the hair follicle’s matrix, as a result of which new cells are pushed to the surface of the skin layer of the hairy part lof the head. This period of active growth continues for 2-5 years.

The life cycle of the hair

Catagen phase
– the division of cells in the matrix is slowed and stopped. The hair follicle enters “sleep,” and the hair bulb gradually detaches from the follicular papilla. This phase is very short – about 3-4 weeks.

Telogen phase – cell renewal is stopped for about 3 months (time during which the bond between a newly-synthesized hair bulb and the follicular papilla is restored and the new hair enters the anagen phase). Completely separated from the dermal papilla, the telogen bulb attains a lengthened shape and starts to move toward the surface of the skin layer on the hairy part of the head. During the telagen phase, the new hair begins to grow, and the old hair falls out.

On the hairy part of the head of every person are distributed on average from 100 to 150 thousand hair follicles, in which hairs are formed, grow, and from which they eventually fall out. Knowing the percentile proportions of hair in different phases, it is possible to calculate the extent of normal hair loss. Normally, during the course of a day we lose on average 70-100 hairs.

Next «Interesting facts»